Website upgrade

As of Monday, January 8, 2018 we'll be upgrading our website to make it as safe as possible and align with industry standards and best practices.  Because of this, you may need to upgrade from older Operating System (OS) versions and browsers to a version capable of supporting TLS 1.2.

You can check your browser's TLS compatibility here by selecting "Test your browser".  If you do not upgrade, you will get a connection error when attempting to access our site.

Thank you, 

Mike Bokus

Information Security Officer


What is TLS?

Transport Layer Security (TLS) is a protocol that provides privacy and data integrity between two communicating applications.  It's used for web browsers and other applications that require data to be securely exchanged over a network.  You may recognize it as a website that uses "https" as a prefix  to a web address.

What is the difference between TLS 1.0, 1.1, 1.2?

The first version of TLS was 1.0 followed closely by 1.1  those versions have been determined to be unsecure after two widely publicized attacks.  Websites that support those versions are still vulnerable to those attacks.  TLS 1.2 was developed in response to those attacks.  So, the current industry recommended standard to TLS 1.2.

What are the impacts to security if this is not done?

It is in everyone's best interest to eliminate a security loop hole that could cause identity theft of fraud.  You may be thinking "Will customers working with older browsers still be able to access the site?"  That concern is why many have been reluctant to remove support of TLS 1.0 and 1.1.  However, all modern browsers support TLS 1.2 therefore limited issues with end users are expected.  Your internet banking provider may have forced an upgrade already as many of them have disabled support of TLS 1.0 and 1.1.

What is an OS?

An operating system (OS) is a program that controls and manages the hardware and other software on a computer, smartphone, smartwatch, etc.  Examples of common operating systems include, Microsoft Windows (Windows 10, Windows 8, Window XP) and Apple's macOS.